top of page

Corporate Jet-Setter: An Interview with Amit Verma, Senior Director, Procurement, MetLife Global Ope


Q: Most memorable trip to any destination? My most memorable trip was to Kalmatia Resorts in Almora. We spotted snakes as guest visitors to the resort, which was a common sight. No Wi-Fi/Internet connectivity led to more human interactions. A small eating joint –‘The Laali’s Inn’ – had simple, yet mouth-watering food options to offer.


Q: You dream of going to? I want to visit Leh Ladakh, as I’ve heard a great deal about the zero gravity point, lack of oxygen and how one takes a few days to get acclimatised to the place. I wish to breathe fresh air, away from the urban concrete jungles and just be close to nature.


Q: Favourite airline and why? Emirates. Their hospitality, aircraft, disciplined services, business lounge(s) across the world and pleasant faces all around, all make for a mesmerising experience. They just make you feel special and worth the money you have spent.




Q: Best hotel experience and why? Ramada – South Goa. The people around were very cooperative, helpful and courteous. The pool-side dinners, along with soft live music and delicious food, best spa services and even the customised baby food, all make it a perfect place to enjoy a Goan vacation. It was truly an unforgettable experience for all of us. Q: A place you plan to visit again? I would love to visit Jaipur again for its rich historical beauty and magnificent palaces. Whenever I’m in Jaipur, I love to stay at ITC Rajputana, Jaipur. The quiet ambience, with chirping birds in the background, is what makes me and my family visit Jaipur again and again. My children look out for leisure, luxury and peace whenever we are holidaying.


Q: A family vacation that stands out? Goa is a family vacation that stands out.




Q: Your best holiday with friends? My trip to Vaishno Devi, with a large group of friends, has been engraved in my memory. We had a fun-filled get-together on the trip, and I certainly wish to relive those memories again.


Q: Great food you enjoyed and where? I enjoyed pizza/pasta, both baked in firewood, at La Pazerio, Pushkar. The Maggi available on hilltops at various hill stations, such as Rishikesh, Mussorie and so on, is also my favourite.


Q: What to watch out for while travelling? Be safe and do not be over adventurous. Travel is meant to give you pleasure and not stress.


Q: As a travel buyer, what’s your philosophy? Plan and make your bookings in advance for your travel and stay. Do not make an itinerary, do not look at the watch and do not search for connectivity. Talk until your jaw hurts, sleep till your back hurts and eat as many times as you are hungry. Enjoy the moment!

bottom of page